Safety Tips for Teen Drivers in Birmingham, Alabama

If you have a teenager, you know it’s only a matter of time before they get their driver’s license. In Alabama, teens can apply for a driver’s license when they turn 16. In fact, if they qualify, they can even get a provisional license at the age of 15. Once they can drive, there’s only so much parents can do to protect them. That is why it is a good idea to take the time now to prepare them to be a safe driver.

Preparation is key when it comes to driving safely. What your teen does before they take to the road can be as important as what they do when they get behind the wheel.

Here, we will offer a few safety tips for teen drivers. If you have any questions about what to do if your teen does get into an accident, call one of our experienced car accident lawyers right away.

Make Sure Your Teen Knows the Rules When it Comes to Who Has the Right of Way

Knowing who has the right-of-way can be difficult, even for people who have been driving for years. Make sure you teach your teen driver how to know who has the right-of-way. This is important, especially if they find themselves at a four-way stop. The general rule is that the person to the right has the right-of-way.

Always Obey Posted Speed Limits and Look for Traffic Signs

Some young drivers think that traffic signs are only a suggestion. It is important that you teach your teen that they need to obey all speed limits and other traffic rules. They need to be able to recognize all sorts of traffic signs. This includes stop signs, yield signs, and train crossing signs.

Make Sure They Have an Emergency Kit in the Trunk at All Times

Even if your teen is a safe driver, things happen. Their car could breakdown at any time, or they may get a flat tire while they are driving by themselves. If they have an emergency kit in the back of the car, they will be prepared. You can buy one that has everything they will need, or you can make one for them yourself. Make sure the kit has a flashlight, flare, and blanket. Also, make sure they have a spare tire in the trunk, along with a kit for changing a tire.

Never Follow Too Close to the Car in Front of You

Tailgating is against the law. The laws in Alabama do not state an exact distance that your teen driver must keep between themself and the car in front of them. Instead, they say that you must keep a reasonable and safe distance between you and another car. A good rule of thumb is to keep at least one car’s length for every 10 miles. So, if your teen is driving at 50 mph, they should keep at least 5 car lengths between themselves and the car in front of them.

If They Do Get into an Accident, Call the Police Right Away

One thing our parents did not always teach us was to call the police if we get into an accident. There is no reason to agree to not file a police report after a crash. They will come out and do a thorough investigation of the accident scene. They will also make sure anybody injured in the crash is taken to the hospital for treatment. The best way to make sure your insurance claim is paid is to have a police report that shows the other driver was at fault.

Never Drive After Using Alcohol or Drugs

There is never a reason to drink and drive. With rideshare services like Uber and Lyft, there is no reason why someone should get behind the wheel after drinking. For someone under the age of 21, there is no safe amount of alcohol they can drink before driving. Make sure they know that, if they do drink, they call for a ride or, they have a designated driver with them.

If your teen driver has been involved in an accident that was due to someone’s else’s negligence, you need an experienced law firm on your side. Call the Birmingham accident attorneys at Hare, Wynn, Newell & Newton if your child has been injured.

Share This:

Get My FREE Case Review